Corporate Bullsh*t

Well it’s come to my attention that a certain place I used to work at is complete liars and full of bullshit. It’s a factory and factory work is not easy. It’s hard repetitive work that makes food service and retail look like a cakewalk. Some people like it, I hated it, but it paid my bills and was my livelihood. Now I didn’t work for the ‘name’ of this factory but a temp agency that hires seasonal workers. Now, even though you’re seasonal worker, you do have a chance to work for the company full time. To do this (according to the temp agency) you must do these things:

  1. Have pretty much no points on your attendance record. (I had 4 before I was laid off)
  2. Have high numbers in whatever department you were in and maintain that percentage.

I was worried because I did have points on my record but I had above average work than all my other co-workers. Somehow while I was working there some people would get points and because they knew (or got to know) the managers of the temp agency very well, their points magically disappeared. Now they still had points but it was like 1 or 2. These people would do below average work. They would stand around and talk. Pretty much get ‘talked’ to a lot. While I ran around and did actual hard work and busted my ass to get numbers. I obviously didn’t fall on any one’s good graces to help me with my points. I got a pat on the back and high hopes that regardless of my points I’d have a chance at full time.

Then I get the word to go to the meeting room. And there’s the paper of being laid off. Not fired, just that you have almost run out of hours for your temp work, and they didn’t have enough work for me to do. I sign my paper, turn over my badge, and thank my managers for the time they gave me to work. Hoping that they’d keep me in mind when they rehire and need more help.

It’s been almost 2 months. And in the time someone I know who is still a temp has yet to be fired. His numbers were also lower than mine. Several people I know where moved around to different departments because they literally didn’t work and would talk the whole time (most the time) are now FULL TIME. Which means they officially work for the company and don’t have to worry about getting laid off.

Then I hear from a Full Time employee that they just hired a hundred new people and he got full time within three months and said he didn’t really have to work for it. I was told that if there were any more positions and more work that I would get a call. So far no call and they’ve hired and given full time jobs to new people that haven’t even been there as long as me.

So where do all these promises go? Right down the fucking crap hole. Still proving that no matter how hard you work, no matter how good you are at your job, and no matter how well you follow the rules. You still get SHIT ON LEFT AND RIGHT.

 

About Mark Lynch

My name is Mark but my friends call me Crimzen (used to be Lucky/LuckysRevenge). I'm 23 years old. A writer with constant writer's block, a computer musician, n00b web designer, and I'm trying to live each day at a time with positive energy all around. I want to make it through school and get a career not a job. I want to get my music out there and make my mark in the world. View all posts by Mark Lynch

2 responses to “Corporate Bullsh*t

Leave a Reply

