The Demon Inside Me Is A Gorilla?

Tripping over my shoes and falling to my carpeted floor makes me curse at rug burns. That sound you make when you get one is almost comical and you would laugh at it but it’s like hitting your funny bone. You just can’t.  Followed by an obscenity and a deep breath I grab my shoes and put my headset on my ears.

Thinking how it costs so much to make mp3 players just because it says Apple makes no sense to me. I have a cheap RCA mp3 player from Walmart that does it’s purpose and does it’s purpose well: It plays music. Welcome to my world. The one that’s closest to me. The one inside my head that comes to life when music pushes it’s doors open.

I find I need no bag of sunshine to keep me glad. But the beat of Clint Eastwood will always and forever stay epic in my mind. You can’t help but bob your head to it’s addictive beat. Makes you wonder what rappers of today are doing and why they make so much money. The true artists lie in the things you’ve never heard of before. The whole point of good music being hidden is the journey. The search for that good music that mainstream won’t ever touch because they are too great for mainstream to touch.

Gorillaz might be mainstream in some aspects but they (in my mind) surpass most mainstream bands today. They are unique and different. They branch out and paint pictures in your mind. Do yourself a favor and listen to some of them. When I first listened to the Gorillaz I was blown away. And on further listening to them I found that their music hit just about every aspect of myself inside. It has a perfect blend of goofy and darkness. It will take you on a huge ride through all the stages of ‘you’. And it’s a fun ride. You can relate to the beats. What doesn’t make sense literally will make sense metaphorically once it seeps into your brain. I was left with an ‘ah ha’ moment several times.

The whole point of music is the journey and I’m always down for creating that world and going on that Gorillaz journey. Kids With Guns makes me want to rebel late at night and spark a little anarchy in my area. Do something mischievous. 68 State is the song I want to play when I visit Japan. I picture myself going fast down some Tokyo highway. Watching all the lights flash around me and turn into blurs. Tomorrow Comes Today, wow, what a in depth song. Listening to this Gorillaz song I believe that anyone can be lost in thought after it. I picture a rainy contemplative day. Reflecting through everything in your life.

The Gorillaz have such an grip in my imaginative world. That they inspire me a lot. Still in my top favorite artists. I can’t help but get excited when one of their songs pops up on random. Funny thing is once that happens I usually stop my shuffle and go to them specifically. From their first CD to The Fall, they have yet to disappoint. I feel that there’s a demon inside me and it’s a gorilla. The Gorillaz sure help me keep it in check. Go out and listen to them, it’ll do you some good ^__^

About Mark Lynch

My name is Mark but my friends call me Crimzen (used to be Lucky/LuckysRevenge). I'm 23 years old. A writer with constant writer's block, a computer musician, n00b web designer, and I'm trying to live each day at a time with positive energy all around. I want to make it through school and get a career not a job. I want to get my music out there and make my mark in the world. View all posts by Mark Lynch

Leave a Reply

