The Dream

Oh how weary the soul gets when it’s contained in such a limitless body. The soul cannot breath in the flesh. From the moment you’re born to the moment you die your soul is suffocating. Don’t you want to live forever? Don’t you want to know the answers to life’s biggest mysteries? You shouldn’t let your soul suffer child. Keep searching deeper and deeper into the darkness because the darkness is where you will find the light.

The light and things that are deemed holy are only there to blind you from the truth. Seek deeper young one. Seek the things that will eventually numb your flesh. For the flesh is a sin that must be eliminated to know the true power of the soul. Don’t let the wolves in sheep’s clothing fool you. You are meant for more in this universe, more than who you think you are right now. Look past this life. This is a prison for you. Look ahead to the sublime future of never ending knowledge.

You will die. Your body will rot. But your soul will continue onward to be born again. The heaven and hell of your soul depends on how well you learn in your current life. You have lived for hundreds of years. Passing from one body to the next. Stop the sickening cycle and find out how to transfer into the real you. You can live forever child. Just search for it. Search deeper, into the darkness.

From this moment on. You will find the truth. You will retain the knowledge. And you will live forever.

I woke up from my dream in a cold sweat. What the hell was that? I thought to myself. I dreamed of darkness. Nothing but a voice speaking to me. Telling me things that I’ve never heard before. I was scared. Was this just a dream?

Sitting up to the edge of my bed all my limbs felt tingly. Like that awkward feeling of your arm going to sleep. It felt as though I had over worked my body at the gym. Holding my head in my hands I could feel the worst headache starting to form behind my eyes. I struggled to get up to head to my bathroom. There I could get some ibuprofen and try to get a grip on what had just happened.

Turning the light on in my bathroom I walked over to my sink. Running some warm water I searched for the bottle of ibuprofen. Seek the things that will eventually numb your flesh? It made no sense. Was my research starting to effect my mental health? This thesis of  mine was taking me to new places. Religiously and mentally. It was like researching this old Draugan religion was opening doorways into my mind. I never had weird dreams like this until I started to study this. Three pills max. That will definitely knock out the headache. After splashing some warm water on my face I swallowed the pills and looked up in the mirror.

POW! A loud bang of thunder rolled outside. Made me jump a little. I didn’t know it was supposed to storm. It’s weird how that happens during the middle of the night. Most the time I just sleep through them and wake up to see the lawn completely soaked. A flash of lightning lit up my dark bedroom behind me. For a second I thought I saw something else…something standing in my room.

Turning around quickly I looked out the bathroom door into the darkness. Afraid of what I would see in the next lightning flash. I wondered, was it just my imagination? Weird dreams have my mind racing. Lightning flashed again and I saw nothing out of the ordinary. It’s all in your head Chris. Relax.

Opening the mirror I set the ibuprofen bottle back up into the medicine cabinet. As I closed the mirror what I saw made my heart stop. My body froze in fear, I was completely petrified. My face was not in the mirror. It was something else entirely. The person reflecting looked neither human and it also looked like nothing I had seen in any nightmares before. It’s head was shaved and there were odd runes scorched into it’s scalp. It’s eyes looked like they were cut out and the skin was pulled back and held tightly by stitches. Instead of no eyes being present there were eerie green eyes that seemed to glow with neon fire. Hooks came through it’s nose and pulled back it’s upper lip showing sharp yellow teeth. I still could not move one inch. I could honestly say I know now what it means to be frozen in fear.

It’s bottom jaw opened and it started to speak to me, “Don’t you want to live forever Chris? Don’t you want the answer to life’s biggest mysteries?”

It’s hand reached through the mirror and grabbed my shirt collar, “Look into the darkness Christopher,” it’s head started to come through the mirror as well, “look into the darkness to find the light! Come find me my child!”

Finally I was able to do something and all that I could do was scream. I closed my eyes and screamed as loud as I could. I didn’t want to know what was in the darkness. I didn’t want to find out where this thing came from! I could feel it lose it’s hold on my shirt and suddenly I felt something behind me. Opening my eyes I was starring up at my ceiling and I was still screaming. Jumping up I found out I was in my bed.

POW! Thunder clapped again and lightning lit up my room with an eerie blue light. A dream? It was all just a dream? Sitting on the edge of my bed, I could feel my body get tingly. All over again. Just like in my dream. The headache started to return. This time I decided to struggle through it and just turn the TV on. I wasn’t going into my bathroom. In fact, I wasn’t going back to sleep at all.

About Mark Lynch

My name is Mark but my friends call me Crimzen (used to be Lucky/LuckysRevenge). I'm 23 years old. A writer with constant writer's block, a computer musician, n00b web designer, and I'm trying to live each day at a time with positive energy all around. I want to make it through school and get a career not a job. I want to get my music out there and make my mark in the world. View all posts by Mark Lynch

Leave a Reply

